Welcome, Guest

Latest 20 Shouts

Current Weather

SIX Stock

Author Topic: Top 5 Wood Coasters. GO!  (Read 14702 times)

Offline AV Matt

• Kingda Ka
  • I'm the guy that looks like me.
    • Coaster-Count.com
Re: Top 5 Wood Coasters. GO!
« Reply #50 on: September 06, 2009, 10:38:48 AM »
Yeah, the "banked" comment had me LOLing. And the lapbars????

For what it's worth, I think El Toro was a great investment for the park. It's not my favorite by any means, but it is in the top 25 or so of the over 100 different wooden coasters I've been fortunate to ride. The "steel feel", uncomfortable restraints, dead hills, and bad ending (after the twisting) make it harder for me to appreciate, but I won't deny it has some fabulous airtime.

I've been riding Phoenix for 11 years now and it has really grown on me. I always liked it a lot, but didn't understand why it was ranked so high until more recently. It's becoming more and more one of my top favorites.

P.S. Going off topic is what makes this fun, as the discussion stays related to the topic and doesn't turn into a bunch of puns and haiku like CoasterBuzz.

Offline dkny6363

• Batman The Ride
« Reply #51 on: September 06, 2009, 11:23:00 AM »
If I have this correct Matt the section between the airtime hills and the drop over RT is where you find it to be dead. Correct? I agree this is the worst part of the ride but it's only in comparison to the hills, the drop over RT, and the insane twisting ending. Possible the 3 greatest sections of any ride I've ever been on. The drop over RT being the most insane.

I have a theory that this slow section is to lull you to sleep in a way, like a calm before the storm approach. Or even a rope-a-dope if I may. It makes you think the worst of it is over and then boom, insane ejector air followed by twisted mayham.

I agree that section could be a little better but
I think the first three hills desensitise you a bit. Also I do find the turn around pretty enjoyable. The speed at least.